Skin Series: How’s that skin doing?

As much as would love my skin to adapt itself to the holistic treatments I’ve been pushing on it, everything doesn’t really go my way. When it comes to skincare, I do try natural products now and again, just to see if my skin is ready. I’ve yet to discover if I’m doing it right or if I’m being too impatient and when I do, I will go all natural with my skin. I still believe that your skin should take as less chemicals as possible, but I also want to keep my skin sane.

Skincare 2For now, I’ll have to try what works. I’ve experimented with a horrendous variety of products on my skin before I found something that didn’t make me go cray! Today, I’m going to list out all the products that work for my skin and do a review of each of these over the next few weeks.

If you know of any products that, you think, will work for my skin type, do comment below and let me know – I will purchase them and do a review.

Before I get into this, you should all know a little about my skin type. I have combination-oily, sensitive, acne prone, skin – My acne leaves highly-visible scars very easily on my skin, probably because my skin tone is very fair. If I do not moisturise well, the area around my mouth and forehead look dry and flaky and the rest of my skin looks super oily/shiny. That sums it all up, now lets get into the products.

Products I use:

Face Washes: Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective White Skin Brightening Exfoliator, The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash.

Moisturisers: Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate, Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective White Deep Moisture Clarifying Cream.

Face Masks: Kiehl’s Rare Earth Deep Pore Cleansing Masque.

Lip Balms: Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1.

I know, most of these products are from Kiehl’s, but this post is NOT sponsored. I wish Kiehl’s had really sent me all these products to try, but they didn’t do that. I bought them all with my money only.

My acne drastically came down even before I started using these products. That is because of the Clinique Acne Solutions Clearing System. This really helped clear up my skin and I’m grateful to these products. The reason I stopped using this system was because it really dried up my skin – causing it to produce more oil to compensate. But I only stopped using it after my acne was controlled.

Once my acne was under control (I only broke out during my cycle), I switched to try the Kiehl’s products to heal my dry patches and keep the oiliness at bay. It took almost 5 months for my skin to look normal. My only concern at present is my acne scars and I use products that combat those. Otherwise, I’m happy that my skin is good now.

Oh! I also use a toner – Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar + Water in a 1:2 ratio.

I still do not have perfect skin, but I’ve come from full coverage to minimal makeup and that is quite an achievement for me. These products have worked for me, but everyone has different skin. I do recommend using the above products, but I do not guarantee any results. 

I will do more detailed reviews on the products and my skin journey in the next few weeks. Stay Beautiful!

– M.

Leave a Reply

